About Us

Our Society

The UQPPES was founded in 2017 by the inaugural cohort of UQ’s Bachelor of Politics, Philosophy and Economics as a place to share ideas, discuss contemporary issues, start careers and make friends. Since then, the society has grown well beyond its initial membership to include students from Economics and BAFE to those studying Arts, Law, Advanced Humanities, and more.

In that time we’ve held some of the most talked about events in UQ’s student community, including the sold-out 2019 Statecraft Lecture, where Clive Hamilton spoke to hundreds about the influence of China in Australian public universities, and the hugely successful PPE Soirée. This is a society created by students who are passionate about what they study, and the people they study with.

Our Mission Statement

The Society’s mission is to improve the university experience and graduation prospects of UQ students interested in politics, philosophy and economics by: running social events which build and strengthen the UQ PPE community, providing vocational opportunities to improve our members’ employability, publishing content which is interesting for our members, and providing our members with opportunities for extracurricular academic development.

We pursue our objectives through a variety of initiatives and events, each facilitated by one or more of our key portfolios: Socials, Vocations, Publications, and Diversity & Wellbeing.

Our Executive

The Society’s executive is elected each year at its Annual General Meeting in October, and subsequently appoints sub-executive officers. To get in contact with the team or to find out more, send us an email at exec@uqppes.com.au.

Hannah Lester

President
president@uqppes.com.au

Nelson Prichard

Treasurer
treasurer@uqppes.com.au

Téa van den Brenk

Secretary
secretary@uqppes.com.au

Shivali Raj

Vice-President (Socials)
socials@uqppes.com.au

Bronte Parbery

Vice-President (Vocations)
vocations@uqppes.com.au

Tom Watson

Vice-President (Publications)
publications@uqppes.com.au

Oliver Friendship

Vice-President (Marketing)
marketing@uqppes.com.au

Jonathan Suarez

Vice-President (Diversity & Wellbeing)
diversity.wellbeing@uqppes.com.au

Our sub-executive officers work within the above portfolios.

Our Governance

The UQPPES Constitution is the main set of rules that governs the makeup and operation of the Society. The Constitution is supplemented by a secondary set of regulations, known as the UQPPES Bylaws. Both documents can be accessed here:

Copyright UQPPES 2022. Website designed by Matthew Costello in 2020.